Day 12: Favorite Quote

Uncategorized

There are two quotes that have been rattling around in my head since the first time I heard them.

Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed citizens can change the world; indeed, it’s the only thing that ever has.” – Margaret Meade. This is actually on my fridge. It’s so easy to become overwhelmed and feel like you’re the only one who cares when you’re really passionate about something that really only a small percentage of the world’s population care about. Being a runner, being agnostic, a vegan, an animal lover, a supporter of equal rights – all of these things are such important parts of my life and it sometimes feels as if they’re not important to anyone else. There are days when I think it would be so much easier to go back to the days when I didn’t think about all these things and just mindlessly plod along as so many people do. Then I remember Meade’s wise words and they give me the hope I need.

“What is a soul? It’s like electricity – we don’t really know what it is, but it’s a force that can light a room.” – Ray Charles. I’ve heard this attributed to a couple different people but I like to think Ray Charles is responsible for it. I just like it, pure and simple.
This morning, the little guy pictured here followed me and Theta along on our run and wound up coming home with us. We have feelers out to see where his home is, but judging from his condition I’m concerned that he was dumped. A lot of people will tell you that animals don’t have souls. That they’re somehow lower life forms than we. I concede that they are different. They have different priorities and a different understanding of how the world works and their place in it than do humans. But there is no doubt in my mind that this sweet boy has a soul, feels very similar emotions to those that we experience, and that he is capable of love. Or at least something dogs feel that aligns with our definition of love. How anyone could abandon another living soul is beyond me. As the “smarter” and “better” species, it is our responsibility to at the very least do no harm.
We’ll take this guy to our vet in the morning and get his nails clipped and have him checked for a chip. If we find his owners we’ll let him go home, and if no one claims him we will take care of him. It’s the least we can do.
Leave a Reply

